Free Download :: Wax Witches – ‘I Hate Matilda’

February 6th 2013

If Wax Witches sound a little familiar, it’s because they probably are.

Alex Wall also happens to be one half of the Gold Coast’s Bleeding Knees Club, but that’s not to say it’s not a completely different sound.

Sitting in his room with a laptop, guitar and microphone, Wall recorded everything himself over five months during downtime from BKC.

The debut physical album Celebrity Beatings isn’t due out until Friday, but don’t despair! We have one of the songs, ‘I Hate Matilda’ here free to download. FOR FWEEE? Yes! For free, man.

If you don’t find yourself raising your lip into a snarl and drawling along with the “nah nah, nah nah nah nahs”, then you’re probably not blasting this echoing, noise-pop punk loud enough.

For those who pride themselves on being on the technological front foot, we recommend going for a rummage through your childhood bedroom and finding your shiny/dusty-as-hell walkman, and nab yourself a copy of this bad-boy on cassette. It was released a few days ago through Burger Records. Yeah you walk (strut) around with your walkman, man!

Maybe it’s just me, but I can’t help but think that Wall is a little pissed off. The track listing is as follows:

1.  ‘Spit On Me’
2.  ‘Alone’
3.  ‘I Hate Your Guts’
4.  ‘Liquid Handcuffs’
5.  ‘Friendzone’
6.  ‘Nervous Breakdown’
7.  ‘LZD’
8.  ‘Teenager Hopeless’
9.  ‘Everytime I Try’
10.  ‘I Hate Matilda’
11.  ‘Panic 666’
12.  ‘Punk Is For Gays’
13.  ‘Nightmares’
14.  ‘Fuck The Drive Thru’
15.  ‘Ballad Of A Lozer’
16.  ‘Shit Day’

Expect to see an album launch in Sydney mid-March. Expect it to be loud.

Celebrity Beatings is out on 8 February 2013.

Read more from Jayne Cheeseman



Read more from FBi Radio