Earthquake Relief: Music from Rose Quartz blog and The Morning Benders

April 1st 2011

The improbably-great Kiwi music blog Rose Quartz has put together an amazing mix tape as a benefit compilation for the relief and recovery effort in Christchurch. They have this to say of the mix:

“It features both local Christchurch artists and international ones who've recently played and hung out there, playing shows at venues that are now virtually rubble.

The compilation can be downloaded freely via RQ but we strongly urge you to click "donate" and give generously via the Red Cross link. There are unreleased songs from Thurston Moore, Monopoly Child Star Searchers, Wet Wings, and Shocking Pinks, new material from Dolphins Into The Future, Sun Araw, Mount Pleasant and Coasting as well as jams from independent Christchurch artists With Moths, Spelunks, Secrets and a live cover in Christchurch's St Lukes Cathedral by Grouper.

Any help spreading the word on this is appreciated; via Twitter, Facebook, blogs, websites, publications or anything. Many people are still without homes, have had businesses destroyed or lost friends and loved ones in the disaster and there's a lot of recovery required!”

You heard them! Make with the downloads and giving and whatnot here.

In other charitable news, Californian dream-rock outfit The Morning Benders have made a new EP available exclusively to anyone who makes a donation of US$5 or more to the Japanese earthquake relief effort. Check out the tracklist:

1. Cold War (Star Slinger Remix)
2. Better In Blue
3. Hand Me Downs (Wild Nothing Remix)
4. Excuses (RAC Remix)
5. Mason Jar (Twin Sister Remix)
6. Wet Cement (Aislyn Remix)
7. Little Riot
8. Promises (Star Slinger Remix)

And even if it weren’t packed with such lovely shiny remix talent, this would still be worth getting your paws on. Do so via their website.

Warm fuzzies AND wonderful tunes? Sounds like a pretty great start to your weekend if you ask me, so spread the word.


Read more from Nick La Rosa