Independent Artist Of The Week: Hideous Towns

August 2nd 2016

Hideous Towns 2016

Melbourne four-piece band Hideous Towns combine elements of shoegaze, post punk and dream pop in their addictive new release ‘Don’t Forget’.

Comprised of members Alana West, Ashley Stirling, Chris MacLean and Ryan DeCoite, Hideous Towns are set to release their debut album later this year via The Lost and Lonesome Recording Co. After releasing their first single ‘Joy/Don’t Look Up’ in April 2014, the band have been doing the rounds across their hometown with the likes of Gold Class, The Creases, Lowtide and The Ocean Party.

Recorded and remixed by Mathew Hosking (VHS Dream), ‘Don’t Forget’ is the hazy, emotion-fuelled alt dream-pop track you’ve been waiting all year to hear.

Tune in to Up For It every Monday morning to meet your new independent artist of the week!

More Independent Artists

Independent Artist Of The Week: Medicine Voice

Medicine Voice is the new project of Sar Friedman, whose sedative, soaring vocals meet with shamanic drum, harmonium, piano, organ and percussion.

Independent Artist of the Week: Spirals

Spirals are a musical muscle relaxant - blending elements of hip hop, latin, afro and jazz into a sound so smooth, you'll feel yourself physically exhale with each phrase.

Independent Artist Of The Week: Jannah Beth

Twenty year old singer-songwriter Jannah Beth is all about “breaking the mundane” through her music.